5 comments on “An Embarrassment of Riches

  1. I’m in a similar position. Over the years, I’ve built up an array of VSTs and DAWs, with a view to having enough time at some point to get to know my way around all of them. I’m now in the position where I have that free time, and I’m at the experimentation stage, I desperately need to prioritise, though, juggling time for listening to music and writing reviews with time for creating music.

  2. Baxter,
    It can be a tricky area this, I’m fortunate in that I’ve been doing this for some years now and I can determine what could be potentially useful (or not) reasonably quickly now, so (hopefully!) I spend the time learning and exploring the programs which will be most used in my work. Saying that, I’ve spent a lot of time on things which never saw the light of day, but that’s part and parcel of the whole creative process.

    • Oh yes, absolutely. The part that I’m finding the most challenging is getting the sounds I hear in my head out there into the real world. I’m getting there, though the process is a slow one (but fascinating too – there are often happy accidents!). I’m certain I have all the tools I need; it’s just building that’s proving difficult. But I have some time set aside over the next few weeks.

  3. Sound gems, indeed! Sometimes it’s that one gem that captivates, like the deep rumblings in Aeon or the beckoning call in the beginning of Lyra. I’ve been listening to ambient music for a little over 25 years, and while I’m happy there is more of it to listen to, I find that too much of it sounds the same (droning, looping, lifeless.) Your music is treasure and I appreciate that you are continually searching for and creating new sounds. Please don’t ever stop.

  4. ‘Jeannie’
    Every once in awhile I get a comment about my work, which makes me think I’m doing the right thing by carrying on making this music and this is one of them. Thanks so much !

Leave a Reply

